Thursday, 28 November 2013 by

The 2014 Diamond League season starts May 9

The IAAF Diamond League is delighted to announce the distribution of event disciplines for the 2014 season.


Commencing on 9 May 2014 in Doha (QAT), the fifth season of the IAAF Diamond League comprises 14 of the best invitational track and fieldmeetings in the world. The meetings are spread across Asia, Europe, the Middle East and the USA, and compose the top tier of the IAAF’s global one-day meeting competition structure.


This series of 14 meetings, which began in 2010, showcases 32 event disciplines which are carefully distributed among the meetings.


In each of the 32 event disciplines there is a “Diamond Race” with points available throughout the 14-meeting season. Winners of each Diamond Race receive a USD $40,000 cash prize and a spectacular Diamond Trophy, but more importantly they will have shown season-long consistency to earn the unchallenged honour of being the world No.1.


Each of the 32 event disciplines is staged seven times with the top three athletes being awarded points at each meeting – four for the winner, two for second place, and one for third – with the exceptions being the Finals in Zurich (SUI) on 28 August 2014 and Brussels (BEL) on 5 September 2014, where the points are doubled.



2014 Calendar

Doha, QAT – 9 May

Shanghai, CHN – 17 May

Eugene, USA – 31 May

Rome, ITA – 5 June

Oslo, NOR – 11 June

New York, USA – 14 June

Lausanne, SUI – 3 July

Paris, FRA – 5 July

London, GBR – 11-12 July

Monaco, MON – 18 July

Stockholm, SWE – 21 August

Birmingham, GBR – 24 August

Zurich, SUI – 28 August

Brussels, BEL – 5 September


Courtesy: IAAF



Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.